Tags

, , , , , , ,

I secretly challenged myself to posting only pumpkin recipes for the entire month of October. Pretty cliche,  I know, but I’ve had fun with it and I hope you have too. For those of you who now have (or plan to soon have) a freezer full of pumpkin puree, fear not, I’ll continue to post recipes that will help you use it all up, its just things won’t be quite as pumpkin centric around here as they have been throughout October. I’ve had a request for a pumpkin soup recipe, and coincidentally, my awesome neighbour Erika was whipping up some spicy pumpkin soup (reportedly inspired by all of the pumpkin activity on The Muffin Myth) during the co-ed craft circle she invited me to last Sunday. I didn’t stick around to try any because there was a matter of borscht I had to attend to across the hall, but it sounded tasty, and it got the wheels turning.

Halloween is looming, and although we’ve been invited to a smattering of Halloween parties around Stockholm, things feel really un-Halloween-y around here. No boxes of miniature chocolate bars to gorge on (not so sure that’s a bad thing), sparse Halloween decorations, and none of that pre-Halloween energy in the air. I may need to conjure up some sort of pumpkin themed treat this weekend to fill the Halloween candy void. Pumpkin sugar cookies, perhaps? If only I had my cookie cutters here!

I do believe I mentioned back when I made the Roasted Pumpkin Lasagna there were some bits of the roasted pumpkin left over. I had suspected there may have been leftovers as I was prepping, and so I chose to roast the slices of pumpkin with only a drizzle of olive oil and the faintest sprinkling of salt, as I was unsure of how I would end up using any potential leftovers. That is, would they would end up in something savory, or something sweet?

There has been a lot of talk of roasted pumpkin around here lately, so it may be important to clear up any confusion between the roasted pumpkin slices, which were roasted till soft but not too soft, and the roasted pumpkin puree, which was roasted until the pumpkin completely collapsed, and then pureed and frozen for future use. You could certainly use either in this frittata, there really aren’t any rules, but your end product will be different for sure. If you opted for pumpkin puree you could whisk it into the egg custard in place of the milk, yielding a softer and more orange coloured frittata. I used roasted pumpkin slices leftover from the lasagna, crumbled into slightly smaller bits and dropped into the skillet with some red onions cooked to golden brown and some lightly steamed kale, with an egg custard and a sprinkling of strong cheese over the top.

If you can’t find kale, you could substitute any of the other greens that are in season at this time of year. This frittata would be every bit as good with spinach or swiss chard or beet greens added into the mix instead or as well as kale. Kale tends to be a bit tougher than the other greens, so I opted to give it a quick steam before adding it to the frittata. I washed it and sliced it up into rough little ribbons of green, and then tossed it into the same skillet I was about to use for the frittata along with a small amount of water, and heated covered with a lid for a couple of minutes on medium high heat to let it soften up a bit.

The roasted pumpkin and  kale frittata made for a quick, easy, and oh so nutritious lunch, served with a couple of pieces of home made crusty baguette, made with an overnight poolish starter – something I’ve long been wanting to cross off of my culinary bucket list. Unfortunately, trusting Martha Stewart rather than my own instincts yielded a way too salty baguette (even Paul, who is a total salt fiend, found it remarkably salty). It was good when consumed in moderation, and made a good accompaniment to the frittata, but not a recipe I’ll be posting without some substantial tweaking.

Roasted Pumpkin and Kale Frittata Recipe:


This recipe is for a small, two egg frittata, which was a nice lunch for one hungry adult. If you’re making this for dinner, or for a group of people, simply multiply the ingredients accordingly. A bigger frittata will take a little longer to cook, so plan accordingly. Here is a trick I learned from watching TV: If you don’t have a skillet with a metal handle, you can still use a plastic handled skillet for the frittata. Simply cover the plastic handle in a layer of tinfoil before putting it into the oven. It works. Trust me.


2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

2 large leaves of kale, pulled off of the woody stem, and chopped up

1/2 cup (or so) roasted pumpkin pieces

1/4 cup sliced red onion (about 2 thick slices off of a medium onion)

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper

1/4 cup shredded cheese (I like a sharp cheddar, or Gruyère)


Turn on the broiler in your oven to pre-heat. Heat a small skillet (or larger, depending on the size of your frittata) over medium high heat. If you’re using kale, place in the pan with a small amount of water, cover with a lid, and let steam for a couple of minutes. Remove kale from the pan and set aside. Heat a tsp of olive oil in your skillet, and add the onion slices. Cook until brown, but not burnt. Meanwhile, in a small bowl whisk the eggs together with the milk. Once your onions are brown, add the pumpkin and steamed kale into the pan (squeeze excess water out of the kale first), and toss around with a little salt and pepper to taste. Pour the egg custard over top. When the egg looks like it is about half set up, turn off the heat, sprinkle the cheese over the top, and put the skillet in the oven under the broiler. The frittata is done when the egg has set, and the top is brown and bubbly. Remove from the oven and let sit for 5 min before serving.

 

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2010

