Tags

, , , , , ,

I know, I’ve been bad lately. Actually, scratch that. I’ve been very very good lately, hence the total lack of posts. Classes are now done with, papers handed in, projects wrapped up. My first four exams came in quick sequence; a one-two-three-four punch. I was feeling moderately sorry for myself until a girl in one of my classes told me that her next two exams, calculus and chemistry, were on the same day. The thought of that made me slightly nauseated and also made my three exams in three days and then a fourth one two days later seem not all that bad after all. One of my classes didn’t have a final exam, just a beast of a final project, and so that leaves just one exam standing between me and this degree finally being over. Naturally the worst one is coming last, but the good news is that I’ve got an entire week to devote to studying for it and only for it, and only very minimal contract work scheduled between now and then. And so, since I’ve got a little breathing room at last, and since I can’t study every minute of every day, a new post.

It’s playoff time. Hockey, that is, and in case there was any doubt as to my allegiance let me just say, Go Canucks! I’m immensely frustrated at the university for scheduling exams at the same time as playoffs, and I’m doing my best to be studious and catch as much hockey as possible. At this time of year pretty well everyone jumps on the bandwagon, even the most fervent non-fans seem to get caught up in the hype. It’s hard not to, with hockey blasting on mammoth televisions pretty much every which way you turn, and the overall mood of an entire city depends on how the team is going. After my graduation ceremony in May I’ll be heading back to Sweden for the foreseeable future, so this will be the last playoff run I get to revel in. With that in mind, I decided I best be living it up.

I figured in the spirit of the playoffs that I’d go head and jump on the bandwagon myself. I’ve been hearing one friend or another yammering on about kale chips for quite some time, but I’d never made a batch of my own. Honestly, I didn’t believe that tearing up kale, tossing it with a little extra virgin olive oil and a sprinkle of sea salt, and baking it in the oven would turn out all that well. Oh how wrong I was. I made a batch for the first time a couple of weeks ago when I was taking a quiet study break and took down the entire batch myself. In a single sitting. Then I made another batch a few days later, and I’ve got another bunch of kale in the fridge due to meet a similar fate. If you’re not a kale chip fan already, I hope you’ll jump on the bandwagon with me and give them a try. Pretty sure they’ll go quite nicely with cold beer and playoff hockey. Just saying. 

Kale Chips Recipe:

I used curly kale here, but you could also use dinosaur kale if you can get your hands on some. Kale grows well in the spring and fall in Canada, so if you’re planting a vegetable garden, now is the time!

1 bunch kale

1-2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp coarse sea salt

Preheat oven to 300 F / 150 C. Pull the kale leaves off of the thick stems and wash the leaves well. Spin dry in a salad spinner if you have one, or pat dry with a clean dish cloth. Tear the kale leaves up into pieces of reasonably uniform size, and spread out in a single layer on a baking sheet (this took two large baking sheets for my bunch of kale). Drizzle sparingly with olive oil, and use your clean hands to toss the kale in the oil so it is coated lightly but thoroughly. Sprinkle with sea salt. 

Bake for 10 min, rotate pans in the oven or carefully toss the kale around. Bake for another 10 minutes, until the kale is crispy but not burnt. Cool for a few minutes before serving.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2011

