Tags

, , , , , ,

For some reason I’ve been having a hellava time writing this post. It has been sitting open on my computer in various stages of constructed and deconstructedness for a week now, and for whatever reason I’m finding it impossible to get the words from my brain to tap into the keyboard and say what I want. I’ve got a cup of tea and my *last* square of Sea Nymph chocolate and I’m giving myself 20 minutes and then hitting publish no matter what. Here goes.

I wanted this post to be about a frittata, to be sure, but also about the wonderful time I spent with my family and good friends while I was recently back in BC. I wanted to talk about filling my days with so much and yet so much nothing at the same time, which, other than the vast quantity of beer and apple fritters I consumed, felt rather balanced. It’s hard not to find balance when you wake up and have a cup of tea sitting here:

I wanted to talk about helping my sister throw her wedding, which was the most big sister-y I’ve ever felt and I enjoyed it very much. And I wanted to talk about how each day, possibly due to a 9 hour time change and possibly due to the perpetual early riser that my partner is, I found myself up and in the kitchen long before any other member of my family was awake. This kitchen is fabulous and tranquil, and each day I’d make breakfast for the 12 – 15 people who were staying in the house. The sources of my favourite eggs are just down the road from our family home; an organic farm with a roadside stand, or the driveway fridge of ‘the egg man’, both of whom accept payment by way of an honesty box. And the eggs, they are awesome.

My sister, Emily, really likes eggs, and so on the morning of her wedding I whipped up frittata so she would have something nourishing to eat early in the day. Being the bride is busy business and I remember not having time to eat much at my own wedding, so I knew breakfast was important.

This is a simple summery frittata with fresh tomatoes and the kernels sawed from an ear of grilled corn being the stars. We had an ear of grilled corn left over from the previous nights’s dinner, but if you don’t you can either quickly grill one, or just pan fry the kernels until they’ve got a nice toastiness to them. A nice strong cheddar cheese and some fresh parsley are the supporting characters.

One year ago: Wheatberry Salad with Eggplant and Haloumi Sandwich for Jenn P. and BC Summer Muffins

Grilled Corn and Tomato Frittata Recipe:

This frittata fed two hungry adults for lunch. You can easily double or triple the recipe to feed a bigger group. Use the very best eggs you can get your hands on, you won’t regret it.

Serves 2

…….

1 cob grilled corn, kernels sliced off

1 small tomato, diced

1/2 small red onion, diced

1/2 cup grated strong cheddar

2 Tbsp parsley, minced

1 Tbsp olive oil

4 eggs

1/4 cup milk

.

Preheat the broiler in your oven. Heat olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Whisk eggs and milk together in a small bowl and set aside. Toss the red onion into the skillet and cook, stirring frequently, until lightly browned. Add corn and half of the tomato, stirring to combine and just heat through. Pour the egg and milk mixture over top. Allow to partially set up; the eggs will still be runny on top but solid on the bottom. Sprinkle with cheese, the remaining tomato, and parsley. Remove from the stove top and place under the broiler to finish. Watch carefully, you’ll want the cheese to be nicely browned, but look away for too long and it will start to burn. Remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes before sliding from the pan onto a cutting board. Slice and serve.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2011

