Tags

, , , , ,

Last year this time I talked about the sandwich system, so I thought now I’d help soften the back-to-school and back-to-work blues with a tasty vegetarian sandwich filling. I find that vegetarian sandwich options can be repetitive and I get tired of simple bread, veg, cheese combinations. I’m doing a lot of running around these days and find that I’m hungry almost all of the time, so I’m on the hunt for a sandwich filling that is a) tasty, and b) won’t make the bread soggy, and c) will keep me fueled for a good chunk of the day.

This chickpea salad sandwich meets all of the above criteria. I went through several test batches before I nailed down what I was looking for. I wanted the filling to mimic somewhat the texture of an egg salad sandwich filling but I didn’t want the chickpea salad to be goopey or overly loaded with mayonnaise. A blend of mayo and Greek yoghurt do the trick. I also didn’t want to have to add any extra veggies to my sandwich if I didn’t want to (read:  trying to avoid soggy bread) but wanted to know that I would be getting nutritious veggies in my lunch, so in went finely diced red pepper and green onion as well as grated carrot.

I’ve been enjoying this sandwich on thin but sturdy slices of Swedish rye bread. It dresses up nicely as a little tea party sandwich if you want to get fancy. Heck, you could even serve the filling as a dip or use it as a topping for little canapes at a cocktail party. Paul has been spreading a little on a tortilla and making a wrap out of it with lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, and a little bit of cheese. Give it a try for your lunch this week, I think you’ll like it.


One year ago: Chocolate Zucchini Loaf with Quinoa  and The Sandwich System

Chickpea Salad Sandwich Recipe:

I wanted the chickpeas in this recipe to be mashed but not totally smooth, so I used the bottom of a cup to give them a good mashing and ended up with the texture I was after (Also, I do not own a food processor or a blender. Or a masher for that matter, so a cup was pretty much my best option.) I like my chickpea salad to be a little spicy, so I’ve used some dijon mustard and a little cayenne pepper here, along with a squeeze of lemon for a little acidity. I imagine that subbing in some diced chipotle pepper or some smokey cumin would be nice also. Let me know if you try any other flavour combinations.

…….

2 cups cooked chickpeas

2 Tbsp plain yoghurt

2 Tbsp mayonnaise

1 tsp dijon mustard

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 carrot, grated

2 green onions, finely diced

1/2 of a large red bell pepper, finely diced

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

…….

In a large bowl roughly mash chickpeas with the bottom of a cup or other mashing device. Alternately you could pulse the chickpeas in a food processor. Stir in carrots, green onion, and red pepper. Add mayo, yoghurt, dijon, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. Use as a sandwich filling on your favourite bread.

Do ahead: chickpea salad can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge for up to five days.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2011

