Tags

, , , , , , ,

October! Good grief, time is flying by. As far as months go, I’m a pretty big fan of October. I like the cool but not-yet-too-cold weather, the earthy smell of fallen leaves mingled with smoke from fireplaces lit for the first time in months, and the fall harvest is still in full swing. I get a little crazy around the fall harvest. Don’t get me wrong, I get a little crazy around the summer harvest as well, but summer harvest is fleeting, and fragile. Fall harvest brings hardier things like apples and winter squash, things that last, things that will get us through the winter. Fall harvest is about survival. So then it is the instinct to survive, I suppose, that drives me to obsessively stockpile the fruits of the fall harvest; even though I already have more apples than I know what to do with, even though there is hardly an inch of space to be had in my teeny Euro freezer. Just you wait until the Halloween pumpkins start hitting the markets. That, friends, is when I really start to lose it. Ahh, fall harvest. I love it.

I’ve been sitting on this recipe for pumpkin and black bean taquitos for some time now. Since June, specifically, when my friend Meg posted the recipe on her blog; a clever riff on a recipe for sweet potato taquitos originally posted on the fabulous She Runs, She Eats. Meg’s version swapped out the sweet potatoes for pumpkin puree and added black beans for a little protein. I happened to have some pumpkin puree stashed away in the freezer left over from last year’s pumpkin processing frenzy, and I’ve always got an assortment of dried beans on hand, so the combo was an easy sell for me. And oh my, they are tasty.

The one hiccup in my taquito making process is that I live in Scandinavia, and believe it or not but Nordic countries are not exactly hotbeds of Mexican ingredients. As such, I wasn’t able to find the small corn tortillas called for in the original recipes, but I was still able to MacGyver a taquito casing with a bungee chord and a roll of dental floss. Just kidding. I found medium corn flour tortillas, sliced ’em in half, and they worked like a dream.

These taquitos come together quickly and the rolling part isn’t all that fussy. Depending on how thin you roll them you’ll likely end up with around two dozen taquitos. I froze a tray of them unbaked and they have been handy and tasty snacks to pull from the freezer and throw in the oven at the end of a busy day. I think the black and orange colours of the black bean and pumpkin combo makes for a nice Halloween party snack as well, and I’m planning to make a whole bunch more for exactly that. I really hope you’ll give them a try.

One year ago: Molasses Bran Muffins With Figs

Pumpkin and Black Bean Taquitos Recipe:
I think you can be some what liberal with your taquito fillings here. Change up the cheese, leave the cheese out for a vegan taquito, add some veggies in. So many possibilities, so many tasty taquitos!
…….
1 large yellow onion, diced
3-4 cloves of garlic, finely diced
2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp chili powder
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 Tbsp dried orgegano
1 tsp salt
1 cup shredded cheese (I used a spicy Jack-ish cheese)
16 medium corn tortillas or 32  small (you may not use them all)
.
Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Sautee onions until they start to become a bit translucent, then add the garlic and cook for a couple of minutes more. Add the spices, pumpkin puree, and black beans and stir to combine. Remove from heat and add the shredded cheese.
Preheat oven to 200 C / 400 F. If you’re using medium tortillas, slice them in half. Spoon about 2 Tbsp of pumpkin black bean mix onto the outer edge of one tortilla and roll up tightly. Place seam side down on a baking sheet. Repeat until you’ve used up all of your filling. Bake for 15 minutes, until golden brown on the outside. Serve with salsa, plain yoghurt (as pictured above) or another dip of your choice.
Do ahead: taquitos can be rolled and frozen, unbaked, on a cookie sheet, then transferred into a ziploc bag for later. Simply cook from frozen and add 5-10 minutes to your cooking time.
All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2011
