Tags

, , , , ,

Remember back in May when I finally finished that nutrition degree I’d been working on for the better part of a decade? And then the very next day I hopped on an airplane and came to Sweden? That was quite something. I’ve applied for some nutrition related jobs since I’ve been back in Stockholm, and I’ve even heard back from a couple of them. The good news is that I’m interesting to these people. The bad news? I need to be able to have a fluent, scientific conversation in Swedish before anyone will consider me for this kind of work.

I’m lucky though, I have work. Not the most glamorous work ever, but work nonetheless, and these days some of the mish mash of work I’m doing involves cooking meals for a couple of very busy families. This is challenging for me in two ways: one, I often have 30 minutes or less to pull a meal together from a pantry of ingredients that is not my own, and two, I’m cooking for children. The children of one family are decidedly more adventurous eaters than the other and will eat almost anything I put in front of them. The others, not so much, and I’m learning the hard way (I now know the Swedish word for disgusting!) to reign in my combinations of colours and flavours (at the very least the parents are enjoying tasty leftovers for lunch).

Very often my conversations with even the adventurous eating children will go something like this:

“Vad vill du ha för middag i vecka?”

“Pannkakor!”

“Kanske kinesisk mat?”

“Nej! Pannkakor!”

“Kanske mexikansk mat?”

“Nej! Pannkakor!”

Pannkakor it is. Swedish pancakes, pannkakor, are all kinds of different from their fluffy North American cousins. There is no leavening whatsoever in the  in the batter, and the batter is very very thin. Not so thin that these pannkakor are like crepes, but somewhere between a crepe and a North American pancake. Pannkakor appear to be a perfectly acceptable meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. They are often eaten simply sprinkled with sugar or with some jam. The pannkakor pictured here are served with some strawberry jam I made in the summer when the local strawberries were in season, and a smear of creamy (10%) Turkish yoghurt.

One year ago: No Sugar Banana Branners and Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding

Pannkakor recipe:

adapted from Plättar och Crepes

I’ve done pannkakor two ways here, which, if you look at the top picture you should be able to tell by the slightly different colours. The pannkakor on the left are made with a blend of all purpose and whole grain rye flours. The pannkakor on the right are all purpose flour only. The rye pannkakor need to be made a little thinner than the others or they will turn out slightly gummy. How many pannkakor you get will be determined largely by the size of the pan you use. I used my largest non-stick pan here and turned out about 8 pannkakor.

.

3 eggs

2 1/2 cups milk

1 cup flour (see head notes)

1/2 tsp salt

butter for pans

sugar or jam for serving

.

Whisk eggs and half of the milk together. Whisk in flour and salt into a smooth batter with no lumps. Whisk in the remaining milk. The batter will be very runny.

Heat a non-stick pan over medium to medium-high heat. When the pan is hot add a small amount of butter and whirl around to coat the pan. Add enough batter to coat the bottom of the pan. It should be not to thin but not too thick. When the surface is dry and dotted with bubbles use a spatula to carefully lift one edge and look at the bottom. If the bottom is nicely golden brown, slide the spatula under the pancake and flip! The second side only needs a minute. Slide the pancake onto a plate and repeat with the rest of the batter, buttering the pan each time. You can keep the pannkakor warm in the oven until they are all ready, or serve them hot off the pan.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2011

