Tags

, , , ,

chocolate raspberry torte // the muffin myth

Today is St. Patrick’s day, and if you were expecting something green I’m terribly sorry to disappoint. The truth is, I have something green that I might have posted today if I wasn’t so darn excited. I have news, people! No, it’s not a baby. In fact, I called my mother yesterday to inform her there will be no babies from me for at least another two years. Why? Because I, Katherine Elizabeth Trant (I only use my full name when it’s serious) am going back to school. Yep, I did it. Yesterday I was notified that I’ve been accepted into a masters degree program in nutrition which will start in the autumn.  Cripes!

This masters program is through Stockholm University and is in collaboration with the department of Biosciences and Nutrition at the Karolinska Institute. I am SO excited (remind me of this in, say, November). And you know what this means? I’m going to be learning a heck of a lot more about food and nutrition. Which means that you’re going to be bombarded with a heck of a lot more information about food and nutrition. We’re all getting masters degrees!

Since we’re celebrating, we’re going to have this chocolate raspberry torte. We can do that healthy green thing another time. We’re going to need it because this? This is intense.

This torte has been living in my brain for a little over a year and I finally made it a reality. I wanted to make it for a friend who has sensitivities to both dairy and gluten (this version is not gluten free, but I had planned to use rice flour in place of all purpose) when we were supposed to have dinner last year. I reworked a fabulous torte recipe, replacing butter with unrefined coconut oil, and swapping out bourbon for raspberries, cooked down and strained. Well, life happened and the dinner didn’t, and the ingredients sat in the kitchen cupboard until the day I left for Stockholm. They may well still be there.

I decided enough was enough, this torte needed to get out of my brain and into my mouth. I needed to know if my vision would work out. And? Yes, yes it did. The torte is all silky smooth dark chocolatey goodness, married together with raspberry and coconut. The coconut is subtle, but definitely there. The raspberry flavour is much more prominent.

You need to set aside some time to make this – it isn’t tricky, but all the components take a little time to bring together. After the torte has baked, it needs a good, long chill. Overnight is optimal, or at least 4 – 6 hours is needed for it to set up. Then, you need a crowd. This is not the kind of thing you want to be home alone with. No sir.

I photographed the torte with a scoop of raspberry sorbet because it looked pretty and I wanted a visual tie-in to the raspberry flavour. Since this torte is served chilled and the whole melt-in-your-mouth silkiness is part of what makes it so amazing. The coldness of the sorbet didn’t complement that well, so I’d suggest going with a warm or room temperature sauce instead.

.

Chocolate Rasberry Torte Recipe:

Chocolate is the star of the show here, so be sure to use the very best you can get your hands one. Bust out your Valrhona or your Callebut or what have you. I actually used 70% Lindt bars here. They’re easy enough to find and I read somewhere recently that Lindt is as good as Valrhona. Okay, then.

Serves a crowd. Seriously, a big one.

Adapted from Rebar

.

500g frozen raspberries (or fresh, if they’re in season)

1 1/3 cups sugar

360g good quality dark chocolate (I used 70%)

200g unrefined coconut oil

5 large eggs

2 Tbsp all purpose flour

.

Start with the raspberries. Place them in a pot with a lid, and set over medium heat with the lid on so they begin to defrost. Check in on them and stir every few minutes. Once they have defrosted increase heat so that the liquid comes to a gentle boil and the raspberries begin to break down. Stir and mash and help break them down a bit. When they’ve become good and liquidized remove the pot from the heat. Place a fine mesh strainer over a bowl, and pour the raspberries in. Use a wooden spoon or a spatula to help push the juice through. You should end up with close to 1 cup of liquefied raspberry.

Preheat your oven to 180 C / 350 F. Grease a spring form pan and line the bottom with parchment. Wrap a layer of tinfoil around the bottom of the pan. You’ll also need a bigger pan that all of this will fit in – we’re baking this in a water bath.

In a small pot, heat 1/2 cup of the raspberry juice with the sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Place the chocolate in a food processor and pulse to break it up a bit. With the food processor running, pour in the raspberry juice. Now add the coconut oil, piece by piece. Add eggs, one at a time, then add the flour. Stop the processor and the bottom a good scrape, then run it again for a minute to ensure everything is well mixed and very smooth.

Pour chocolate mixture into the prepared pan, and then place the pan into a larger pan and pour water in so it comes at least half way up the sides. Set in the oven, and bake for 30 minutes.

When torte is done it should be just barely set. It’ll still have a bit of jiggle to it. Remove from the oven, and from the water bath, and cool in the pan on a wire rack. Once it is cool, cover, and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight.

To serve, remove from the spring form pan and use a hot knife to slice small pieces.

MM_Know_Icon_FINALThis one is intense, folks. It’s all chocolate and sugar and fat. What’s good about this? It tastes incredible. People you share it with will love you. It’s chocolate. So we’re going to enjoy our torte, and then we’ll move on. Damage control: A nice, long, post torte walk, and then how about a salad? This Savoy Slaw should do the trick.

Do ahead: Torte can be kept, covered, in the fridge for up to a week. Truthfully, I was eating it nearly 2 weeks later and it was still perfectly fine, but to be safe lets say one week.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2012

