Tags

, , , ,

I intended on posting this muffin as a summer recipe. I dreamed it up as something to do with the precious bag of white whole wheat flour generously handed to me by The Flour Peddler. I picked a small bowl of early season blackberries to carefully fold into the batter. Drove to the egg man, dropped my coins into the honesty box, and walked away with a couple dozen of the best eggs ever. Picked up some ricotta. Preheated the oven. Greased the muffin tins. Lined up the ingredients, only to realize that someone had put the empty tin of baking powder back into the drawer and there was none in the house.

My mom offered to run over to our neighbour’s house and borrow enough for the recipe, so I waited, stirring the wet ingredients together, measuring out the dry. When she returned I quickly dumped the flour mixture into the wet, folded the blackberries through, and slid the tray into the oven. About 10 minutes into the baking time I noticed the tin of baking powder sitting on the kitchen counter exactly where my mom had set it when she had returned. Unmoved. Effffff.

Still, the muffins were good. Really good. But I couldn’t post the recipe without testing it again and including all of the ingredients. Summer turned to autumn, and blackberries gave way to cinnamon roasted apples. And folks? They’re good. Really good.

This is a muffin recipe I think you can tuck into your repertoire for year round use. The base is subtly sweet and turns out surprisingly light for such a thick batter. Though I’ve only tested this recipe with blackberries and apples, I think fresh diced peaches would be heavenly, as would soft chunks of ripe pear. Blueberries maybe? If you try them, and I hope you do, please let me know what sort of fruit you use and how it goes.

One year ago: Pumpkin and Black Bean Taquitos
Two years ago: 
Six Degrees of Lemon Mousse

Whole Wheat Ricotta Muffins Recipe:

I’ve made these muffins with both home made and store bought ricotta. If you use home made ricotta, give it a quick whirl in the food processor before stirring it into the batter to make sure it’s nice and smooth. If you’re roasting apples just for this recipe make sure they’re a little under done so they’re still a bit firm. Or just pick the firmest ones from a bigger batch of roasted apples, and enjoy the rest with yoghurt.

The white whole wheat flour for this recipe was generously provided by The Flour Peddler. 

.

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup ricotta cheese
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup maple syrup
2 cups white whole wheat flour (whole wheat pastry flour)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup cinnamon roasted apples, or other seasonal fruit

.

Preheat your oven to 180 C / 350 F. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin, or line with parchment muffin liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, ricotta, eggs, vanilla, and maple syrup. In a separate bowl, combine the flour with baking power, baking soda, and salt. Stir the flour mixture into the wet mix until just barely combined, then carefully fold in the roasted apples. The muffin mix will be quite thick. Don’t worry, it should be.

Spoon equal amounts of the muffin mix into 12 muffin cups. Slide into the oven, and bake for 20 – 25 minutes, rotating the pan once part way through. Muffins are done when they are puffed and golden, and a toothpick or small knife comes out clean.

Cool on a wire rack.

In my mind these muffins are teetering somewhere between a weekday and weekend muffin. They’re reasonably low in fat and high in fiber, made with 100% whole wheat flour, and are sweetened naturally with maple syrup. Ricotta, especially if you make it yourself from whole milk, is a nice way to add moisture and protein while still keeping the fat content relatively low. I’m eating these in moderation, mostly on weekends, but don’t feel at all bad about the occasional indulgence during the week.

Do ahead: These muffins will last a couple of days at room temperature in an air tight container. As with all of my muffins, I store these in the freezer for a longer lifespan. They thaw quite nicely.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2012

