Tags

, , ,

We’ve had a pretty mild autumn so far, although there is snow and a pretty significant drop in temperatures forecasted for the end of the upcoming week. But man oh man, it is dark out. I’ve adopted the Swedish way of dealing with it: lamps in the windows, candles on basically every available surface.

What’s good around the web is a weekly series where I share some of what I’ve been reading around the web. Each week I’ll be posting links to five nutrition related articles, good recipes, and just general good reads. I hope you enjoy it! If you’ve got at article or recipe you’d like to see featured, please email me.

1. I get asked a lot about Omega-3 supplements, so I was happy to stumble across this article which clearly explains the different types available on the market and the benefits or drawbacks of each.

2. Here’s some new research linking black tea consumption to a lowered risk of type 2 diabetes. This is good news for me, I’m a total black tea junkie.

3. You’ve probably heard that Hostess has liquidated, and therefore the beloved Twinkie is becoming extinct. I’m not exactly sad about the loss of junkfood (and I’m pretty sure it won’t truly be going away), but do feel for those 18,500 people who are out of jobs. Nevertheless, this is an interesting piece on honouring the Twinkie. 

4. Good nutrition goes beyond preventing simple deficiencies. Interesting read on magnesium, cacao, and your genes.

5. Do you think about how you talk to your kids about food? Ten food statements you should never make. 

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2012

