Tags

, , , , ,

Spicy Chocolate Snickerdoodles

I’ve officially reached the time of year when my diet consists of more cookie dough than not cookie dough. I’ll tell ya, I feel pretty gross. The problem is that last week I baked 500 scones and at least as many cookies for a holiday open house, and there was a lot of, err, sampling as I went. Luckily scone dough is not good unbaked, but I did eat enough baked scones, cookies, and cookie dough to feel pretty much over baked goods for the moment.

I’m indulging in a week of clean eating before I pack up and fly halfway around the world for my first family Christmas in four years, which I am beyond excited about. I know cookies will be back in my life in very short order, hopefully more of these.

Chocolate + spicy is the one of the most awesome combinations of flavours / sensations in my books. These cookies do not disappoint. They are intensely chocolately, crisp on the outside, dreamy soft on the inside, and have a serious kick from cayenne pepper. They may just be my new favourite cookie.

For other holiday cookies you can check out my Brown Sugar Shortbread and my Grandfather’s Gingersnaps.

Spicy Chocolate Snickerdoodles // The Muffin Myth

One year ago: Cooked Eggnog

Spicy Chocolate Snickerdoodles Recipe:

These cookies pack some serious heat, which I like just fine. If you’re sensitive to spice or are baking these to share with kids, consider halving the cayenne pepper or replacing it with cinnamon, which is what I did for the open house. My personal batch, however, were dang hot and spicy.

Recipe from Better Homes and Gardens Christmas Cookies via Claire K Creations

Makes 3 dozen cookies

.

1/2 cup (125g) butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 cup granulated sugar mixed with 2 tsp cinnamon for rolling

.

In the bowl of an electric mixer beat together the butter and sugars until well mixed and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla extract. Sift together the dry ingredients, then add all at once to the butter mixture and mix well. Cover the bowl, and refrigerate for about 1 hour, until dough is firm.

Preheat oven to 325 F / 160 C (convection) or 350 F / 180 C (conventional). Line a couple of baking sheets with parchment or silpats.

Scoop tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball. Roll the ball in the cinnamon sugar, then place on the baking tray. Be sure to leave a few cm between the balls so they have room to spread a bit.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the cookies are beginning to crack on the top. Remove from the oven and let sit on the trays for a minute or two, then transfer to a wire rack for cooling.

MM_Know_Icon_FINAL

You’re eating cookies! Amazing hot, spicy, chocolatey cookies! Enjoy them, and remember to moderate. I’ll be back later in the week with some lighter fare to balance out all this sugar and butter, but for now you could check out this Broccoli Kamut Slaw. Its just the kind of thing I’m in the mood for right now.

Do ahead: These cookies can be made in advance and kept in an air tight container for about 3 days (good luck with that) or in the freezer for a few months. You can also make the dough and freeze that for a few months, either as one big lump, or you can roll the dough into balls and freeze them on a tray so they’re ready to pop into the oven at a moment’s notice.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2012

