Tags

, , , ,

pizza sallad

Its not a spelling mistake. Let me just clear that up right off the bat. Pizza sallad is a Swedish thing, and so I’ve spelled salad the Swedish way: sallad. Pizza sallad probably isn’t originally Swedish, but if you go to any pizza shop in Sweden you’ll get a bowl of the stuff along side your pie. Or there will be a salad bar, or you’ll get a little tub of pizza sallad with your takeout pizza. Its really more of a coleslaw than a salad, and is starkly simple; shredded cabbage in a dressing made of nothing but a neutral flavoured oil, white vinegar, salt and pepper. That’s it. Although I’m not a fan of the thin, floppy pizzas here, I do very much like the accompanying pizza sallad.

pizza sallad

I turned 34 (thirty-formidable!) last weekend, and celebrated by slinging pies for some of our best Stockhomies (that gorgeous iittala bowl and tea towel were a birthday gift from two lovely ladies). I make a fine pizza, if I do say so myself, using a stone and a paddle – I’ll do a pizza making post sometime soon, I promise. I made up a big bowl of Swedish pizza sallad to go along side. Also on the menu was a double batch of curried devilled eggs (from this book, which I highly recommend) , hummus and veggies, pickles, olives, and a lot (a LOT) of champagne.

The thing about the pizza sallad is you’ve got to make it in advance. It needs to cure at least overnight, but I’ve been eating leftovers all week long and I think it’s just getting better and better. The flavour is somewhere between eating a nice bowl of clean tasting (as in not goopy with mayo) coleslaw, maybe a touch of pickledness, and just a hint of sauerkraut. I guess some people add thinly sliced onions or shredded carrots, and you, of course, have licence to add in whatever you like. This is how I prefer it, just plain, simple, and good.

Photo: Giveaway coming up on The Muffin Myth!

One last thing; I’ve got a cookbook I’d like to send to one of you! I’ve acquired several gorgeous new cookbooks lately, and am planning on ordering a few more with some money I received for my birthday. The little cookbook shelf in my little kitchen in my little apartment is at capacity, so I’ve been going through and weeding out cookbooks that are being neglected. One day I’ll get a bigger bookshelf, maybe even a bigger apartment with a bigger kitchen, but for now I’m trying to live in an uncluttered and minimalist way. Ripe From Around Here: A Vegan Guide to Local and Sustainable Eating is a beautiful cookbook. I bought it over a year and a half ago, and it has sat, unused and neglected, on my bookshelf ever since. I don’t know why I keep passing it over, but I do know that it deserves a better home! If you’d like this book, simply leave a comment on this post. You can earn additional entries by liking The Muffin Myth on Facebook and by subscribing to The Muffin Myth, either by an RSS reader, or by email subscription. Just leave a comment letting me know you’ve done that; 3 comments = 3 entries.

I’ll pick a winner – anyone, anywhere – by random number generator on Thursday February 7th at midnight PST.

pizza sallad

One year ago: Koh Samui
Two years ago: They brought me flours

Pizza Sallad Recipe:

A couple of things to note. Firstly, white vinegar in Sweden is 12%, which is a lot stronger than the white vinegar available in Canada, which is I think 4%. If you can’t find a strong white vinegar you may want to play with the oil : vinegar ratio in your dressing to get the right flavour. Also, you want a neutral oil, like canola or grape seed oil. Olive oil is too strongly flavoured and takes over the vinegar taste we’re going for here. If you use canola, opt for organic if you can.

This recipe makes a lot of pizza sallad, so scale down as needed.

.

1/2 a large head of white cabbage, finely shredded (about 8 cups shredded)
1/4 cup canola or other neutral oil
1/4 cup strong white vinegar
salt and pepper

.

Wash and shred the cabbage and place in a large bowl. Whisk oil and vinegar together and pour over the cabbage. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, and toss everything well. It should be wet and well coated, but not soggy and there should not be an excessive amount of liquid at the bottom of the bowl. Press the mixture down with a heavy plate, and set in the fridge, covered, to rest overnight.

When you’re ready to serve, give the sallad a toss and then taste it. Is it vinegary enough? Need more salt and pepper? It should be tangy, and faintly sauerkrautey, definitely slightly pickled. Serve alone, or as an accompaniment to pizza.

MM_Know_Icon_FINAL

Cabbage is chock full of anti-inflammatory, anti-oxidant, and cancer fighting glucosinolates. It is an excellent source of vitamins C, K, A, manganese, folate, and dietary fiber. Additionally, cabbage has cholesterol lowering benefits. When you eat cabbage, fiber-related nutrients bind together with some of the bile acids in your intestine, which causes them to remain in the intestine and then pass through you (you know what I mean) rather than being absorbed. Your liver then needs to replace these bile acids and does this by using up some of your existing supply of cholesterol, which then causes your cholesterol level to go down. Cabbage for the win!

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2013

