Tags

, , ,

I love how the setting sun funnels down our street like this. I stepped out last night to grab a few groceries, and it was beautiful and blinding.

What’s good around the web is a weekly series where I share some of what I’ve been reading around the web. Each week I’ll be posting links to five nutrition related articles, good recipes, and just general good reads. I hope you enjoy it! If you’ve got at article or recipe you’d like to see featured,please email me.

MM_Web_Icon_FINAL

1. Has the advice to avoid giving children foods with known allergen risk (like peanut butter, eggs, shellfish) in the first year of their life lead to an increase in food allergies? 

2. Are you eating gluten-free because you think it’s a healthier diet? You may want to pay attention to the important nutrients you might be missing out on.

3. Why do you eat? When do you eat? How do you eat? Is mindful eating a practice you’re familiar with?

4. Did you know that water is America’s favourite drink? I only wish that didn’t mean so many plastic bottles.

5. And, of course you’ve probably heard that the New York ban on super sized sugary beverages was overturned in the 11th hour.

What do you think about this soda ban business? Some people think that the judge’s decision to overturn the ban at the last minute is a tragic loss for public health. Others think of it as a victory for personal rights and freedom. I can see both perspectives. While I do find the existence of such large sizes of sugary drinks disturbing from a health point of view, the reality is that we live in a world where cigarettes are readily available in spite of clear and concrete evidence about the harmful effects of smoking.

But, unlike gigantic sugary drinks, tobacco is heavily taxed, as is alcohol. In Sweden alcohol is taxed by percentage. A 4.5% beer is taxed at a much lower rate than a bottle of 40% vodka, the justification being that you’re much less likely to drink yourself to death on beer than vodka. Hard alcohol is so expensive here that I really can’t afford to drink it. A martini or a high ball ordered from a bar would end up costing around $25 – $30, and it’s much cheaper for us to buy Swedish vodka overseas and bring it back than to buy it here.

I can still choose to drink high percentage alcohol if I want to, but I’m going to pay for it. Perhaps rather than an out right ban on gigantic sugary drinks, the ridiculously large sizes should be the most expensive option, rather than the cheapest. If you want to drink a bucket of soda that’s your right, but perhaps the price should reflect the potential damage that amount of sugar can do.

Thoughts?

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2013

