Tags

, , ,

bootnshoe

Hi friends! Me here, slowly working my way back onto both feet. Well, not quite, but I’m managing. I’ve even been back in the kitchen a little bit. I discovered that with a chair in the kitchen and a fair amount of bum-sliding I can access most of the drawers and cupboards in our little kitchen. I even made a batch of no sugar banana branners this morning all by my self. Baby steps!

The thing I was most unprepared for with this broken ankle is the exhaustion that hit me during the first week. I couldn’t so much as read a book, let alone curate articles to post here, so I hope you’ll forgive me, once again, for neglecting this space. But I’m bouncing back! Not quite at the stage of photographing recipes again, but I’ve got a guest post coming at you in a couple of days that I’m really excited about, and more from me coming up real soon. I promise. In the mean time, enjoy this week’s roundup of food, nutrition, and health related articles!

What’s good around the web is a weekly series where I share some of what I’ve been reading around the web. Each week I’ll be posting links to five nutrition related articles, good recipes, and just general good reads. I hope you enjoy it! If you’ve got at article or recipe you’d like to see featured, please email me.

MM_Web_Icon_FINAL

1. I think this farmer’s market recipe generator is totally genius. Try it out and see what you can do with all the amazing produce coming at us right now!

2. Women and alcohol: how much is too much? Let’s real talk this one. I typically have two (or more) alcohol free days a week as is recommended, but on those days that I do drink I don’t always (or often) limit to two. And the bachelorette party effect? Well I was at a bachelorette party last night (hence my blinged up cast in the photo above). I had to be conservative (ish) due to the crutches and bowed out early, but otherwise… I’da done that party justice! What do you think about this?

3. Are you a breakfast eater? Digesting the implications of breakfast.

Note: these next two articles contradict one another in places. What do your critical thinking skills tell you?

4. Calories In — Calories Out has been proven false and frustrating. This is an interesting issue that I don’t feel I know enough about. Conventional nutritionism tells us the calorie formula is basic math. Is it, or is it more than that?

5. Six bad excuses for over eating. I’ve actually been a big believer in the 2nd one (not as in pigging out, but as in planned treat days) for a long time. And the popcorn one as well. Popcorn (real, stove top or air popped, not the microwave junk) is a whole grain and has a lot of good chew power. Three cups is going to be a whole lot more satisfying than a slice of bread, in my opinion. What do you think?

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2013

