Tags

, , , , , ,

smashy smashy // the muffin myth

Lately I’ve been making lists of various things I could put on toast and reasonably call dinner. This is what one does when one is one-week from thesis deadline, right? Make lists of terribly important things. Much more important than working on one’s thesis, right? So we’re in a toast-for-dinner situation, and I thought I’d share one of my favourites: the smashy smashy.

This is the kind of thing I can use to talk myself out of ordering a pizza for dinner. Or when I get home from work tired and hungry on a Friday and the husband wants to do some ridiculous chore before we even think about dinner. Because I get hangry something fierce, it’s better for everyone that I just feed myself as fast as possible.

eggs // the muffin myth

Because that’s a six-minute egg smashed up on that toast, I can get this bad boy from concept into mah belly in just about 10 minutes. If things were really desperate, I could have already polished off the smashed avocado toast (which, by the way, is drizzled with pistachio oil and topped with sea salt) before the egg was done. And things do get that desperate, let me tell you.

I think that toast is highly underrated when it comes to a quick and easy dinner. With the right bread for your base and the right toppings, it can be a very nutritious meal. Fast, easy, and easily adaptable, what’s not to love? I like my toast for dinner on a pretty plate with some sliced tomatoes on the side, and a cloth napkin, because come on, toast or no toast, I’m still a lady.

What’s your favourite toast for dinner combination? I’m making a list!

smashy smashy // the muffin myth

One year ago: Nada.
Two years ago: Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies (my favourite!)
Three years ago: Rhubarb, Apricot, and Ginger Muffins

Smashy Smashy Recipe:

Ok, this isn’t much of a recipe, but more of a suggestion. For perfect soft-boiled eggs I use this technique and let the egg cook for six minutes (set a timer!) and then let it sit on the counter for half a minute or so to cool slightly before I peel it. If you don’t have pistachio oil you can sub in another nutritious nut oil like walnut or almond, or even use avocado or olive oil instead. Or skip the oil drizzle altogether and go for a splash of hot sauce!

Serves 1

.

2 slices whole grain bread
1 egg
1/2 an avocado
pistachio oil (or other, see headnotes) for drizzling
salt and pepper

.

Set a small pot of water over high heat and bring to a boil. Using a spoon, carefully dip the egg in and out of the water a few times, then lower it into the pot. Set a timer for six minutes.

When the timer is around the three-minute mark, pop the bread into the toaster. Get the avocado organized: I like to score it with a sharp knife and then scoop it out with a spoon.

The toast should be ready slightly before the egg is. Go ahead and smash the avocado on one slice. Once the egg timer goes, remove from the water and let cool slightly, only 30 seconds or so. Tap against the counter to break the shell, and peel carefully. Smash the egg onto the other piece of toast.

Drizzle a touch of oil over the avocado, if desired, and salt and pepper over both the avocado and the smashed egg. Serve immediately.

MM_Know_Icon_FINAL

Avocados are awesome! Around 80% of the calories in an avocado come from fat, which is about 20 x higher than most fruit. However, about 65% of this fat is healthy monounsaturated fat, in particular oleic acid. Avocados also contain an incredible range of phytonutrients, and many vitamins and minerals. Avocados are a good source of vitamin K, fiber, vitamin B6, vitamin C, folate, and potassium – more potassium than a banana even!

Eggs are an amazing source of high quality protein, vitamin B12, choline (important for your brain), carbohydrates, and healthy fats. Eggs are satiating; a study found that those eating a low fat diet which included 2 eggs a day for breakfast lost nearly *twice* as much weight as those eating a bagel breakfast with the same calories and mass, with no increase in blood cholesterol levels.

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2014

