Tags

, ,

Now what // the muffin mythEarly on Sunday morning I woke up with a familiar lurch of anxiety. So much to do!!! Deadlines looming!!! And then slowly I realized that I had nothing to do. I wonder how long it will take for that to go away?

So now what?

(I think this is the question any recent graduate dreads the most)

When I started grad school I was in it for the long run. I wanted to go all the way, and so right from the start I was hustling, making contacts, and trying to arrange research opportunities and future fellowships. About half way through my thesis project, my supervisor offered me exactly the opportunity I had been looking for.

I turned it down.

I spent the last year living in a bubble that was all about artificial sweeteners. If anyone asked me a nutrition question outside of that world I felt overwhelmed. My knowledge and expertise became so narrow it was difficult to function outside of it. I’d get an email with a question about calcium and be like, “ummm, do you want to talk about artificial sweeteners?” or a question about a particular diet, “Does this diet include artificial sweeteners? Cause I know a ton about that”

I’m in the fortunate position to have a job I really like, so I didn’t finish this degree in a panic to find work. I consider myself to be very, very lucky in this respect. I also have a good idea of what I do want to do with my 9 years of nutrition education moving forward, and that makes me feel grounded.

For a long time my work as a writer and my life as a nutritionist felt like two totally different worlds, but I’ve realized they’re not. Now when people ask me what I do I tell them I’m a professional communicator with science-based expertise in food, nutrition, and health. I know it’s a mouthful, but there it is, that’s what I am. I want to spread the word, combining my background in writing and my nutrition knowledge in a meaningful way. I can speak science and I understand data, so I think a good part of this will revolve around translating nutrition research in to real-world language to help people make sense of a truly overwhelming subject.

I’d also like to do some nutrition consulting, so I’ve got work to do to figure out what that looks like, but this space will likely be the launching platform.

There are going to be some changes here at The Muffin Myth as well! Most importantly, I’ll be here a lot more often. All of the time I’ve been spending on my thesis I can now shift over here, which is where I would have preferred to be anyways! At times I seriously thought I should have written my thesis wearing an “I’d rather be blogging” t-shirt.

I’m also going to be moving The Muffin Myth to a new home later this month, and that will allow me more control over the blog.  I’ll finally be able to do things like add a widget that allows you to print just the recipe, a better search function, a recipe index, and so on. The move probably won’t affect you, but I’ll let you know just before it happens so if there are any necessary updates to RSS subscriptions you’ll know in advance. I’ve got a few more changes around the corner to do with how I filter content and categorize recipes, but I’ll save those for another time.

It’s going to be awesome going forwards, and I’m so glad you’re along for the ride!

All text and photos © The Muffin Myth 2014

